Research Data Management (RDM)

As a researcher you work daily with a lot of digital data. Organising, storing and making such data reusable for the future has become a normal part of the research workflow. The University Library supports you in the handling of your data.

 

What are Research Data?

Research data are all data that are generated during the research process. Depending on the discipline you work with different types of data: measurement data, laboratory data, textual data, code, tabular data, audio data, visualizations, graphics, etc.

Research Data Life Cycle

Research data goes through various different stages during a research project. With structured research data management you can process your data during each stage safely, efficiently and also ensure that the data is reusable after the publication of the results.

Grafik Forschungsdaten-Lebenszyklus

The Goals of Research Data Management

Data management aims to make data findable, interpretable and reusable on a long-term basis. Good research data management should fulfill the following requirements:

  • The data of a project are open and accessible upon the time of the publication at the latest
  • Based on your shared data others can reproduce your findings
  • Your data are archived in a FAIR-compatible repository
  • Sensitive data are anonymised - if possible - and shared

How to do Research Data Management

Mit Daten arbeiten

Als Wissenschaftlerin oder Wissenschaftler arbeiten Sie täglich mit vielen digitalen Daten. Diese systematisch zu organisieren, zu speichern und langfristig nutzbar zu machen, gehört heute zur Forschungsarbeit dazu. Wir unterstützen Sie im Umgang mit Ihren Daten.

Was sind Forschungsdaten?

Forschungsdaten sind alle Daten, die während Ihres Forschungsprozesses entstehen. Je nach Disziplin arbeiten Sie mit unterschiedlichen Datentypen: Messdaten, Laborwerte, Text, Code, Tabellen, Audios, Grafiken usw. 

Forschungsdaten-Lebenszyklus

Im Laufe eines Projekts durchlaufen Forschungsdaten verschiedene Phasen. Mit einem sauberen Forschungsdaten-Management bearbeiten Sie Ihre Daten in jeder Etappe sicher, effizient und machen sie über Ihre Publikation hinaus nutzbar.

Grafik Forschungsdaten-Lebenszyklus

Forschungsdaten-Management

Datenmanagement hat zum Ziel, Daten langfristig auffindbar, verständlich und nachnutzbar zu machen. Konkret sollte Ihr Forschungsdaten-Management folgende Anforderungen erfüllen:

  • Spätestens bei der Veröffentlichung sind die Daten Ihres Projekts offen zugänglich
  • Mit Ihren geteilten Daten können andere Ihre Studie reproduzieren
  • Ihre Daten sind in einem FAIR-kompatiblen Repository archiviert
  • Sensitive Daten werden – wenn möglich – anonymisiert und ebenfalls veröffentlicht