UB Art History

Kunstgeschichte

 

 

Book a Study Space

Study spaces can be reserved via booked:

booked-UB

There are also study spaces available that can be used without prior booking.

Borrow Lockers

The following lockers are available:

  • 56 lockers (free of charge, 28 days loan, reserve via swisscovery)

Locker keys can be borrowed at UB Philosophy (KOL-F-114).

Information about the Location (RAK-2-206)

The majority of the library's collection is in the reading room and can be used on site. Many of the books can be borrowed at a self-checkout station. Precious and rare books are stored in closed stacks and have be ordered on the previous day.

  • Main subject areas: European and American art history from late antiquity to the present (architecture, painting, sculpture), general art studies (sources, art theory, iconography), literature on the history of photography, film, new media.
  • Marginal subject areas: Non-European art, decorative arts, garden design

Extensive bequests from former emeriti Johann Rudolf Rahn, Joseph Zemp, Konrad Escher, Heinrich Wölfflin, Gotthard Jedlicka, Emil Maurer, Adolf Reinle and Helmut Brinker form the basis of the collection. The library is organized topographically and by subject.

More than 10,000 photofiches of cultural monuments in Europe (Marburg Index) are stored in a separate microfiche room (room 206a). A microfiche scanner allows scanning and further processing of the fiches for PowerPoint presentations and seminar papers.

UB Kunstgeschichte

Kunstgeschichte

 

 

Lernplätze buchen

Über booked können Lernplätze reserviert werden:

booked-UB

Es sind auch Lernplätze vorhanden, die ohne vorgängige Reservation benutzbar sind.

Information zum Standort (RAK-2-206)

Der grösste Teil der Bibliotheksbestände ist im Lesesaal aufgestellt und kann vor Ort benutzt werden. Ein Grossteil der Bücher kann an einer Selbstverbuchungsstation ausgeliehen werden. Kostbare und seltene Bücher sind magaziniert und müssen am Vortag bestellt werden.

  • Hauptfachgebiete: Europäische und amerikanische Kunstgeschichte von der Spätantike bis zur Gegenwart (Architektur, Malerei, Plastik), allgemeine Kunstwissenschaft (Quellen, Kunsttheorie, Ikonographie), Literatur zur Geschichte von Fotografie, Film, neuen Medien
  • Randfachgebiete: Aussereuropäische Kunst, Kunstgewerbe, Gartenkunst

Umfangreiche Legate der früheren Emeriti Johann Rudolf Rahn, Joseph Zemp, Konrad Escher, Heinrich Wölfflin, Gotthard Jedlicka, Emil Maurer, Adolf Reinle und Helmut Brinker bilden den Grundstock der Sammlung. Geordnet ist die Bibliothek topografisch und nach Sachgebieten.

In einem separaten Mikrofichenraum (Raum 206a) werden über 10'000 Fotofichen von Kulturdenkmälern Europas (Marburger Index) aufbewahrt. Ein Mikrofichen-Scanner ermöglicht das Einscannen und Weiterverarbeiten der Fichen für Powerpoint-Präsentationen und Seminararbeiten.