How to Publish?

Are you planning to publish soon? We recommend that you publish your work Open Access: Either directly in a recognised OA journal or as a second publication in a repository. UB Zurich offers financial support to UZH members for OA publishing. Funding for Publications

How Do I Publish Open Access?

Gold Road

You publish directly in an OA journal that requires a licence. Your article is immediately available to everyone. We support you with the accruing article fees (APCs) within the framework of the Read&Publish contracts of the UB Zurich

Diamond Road

Similar to gold, except that there are no article fees if the journal is not commercial but funded by a university, consortia or scientific associations.

Green Road

You first publish in a conventional closed-access journal. Then you make a secondary publication in a repository or on your own website. The UZH provides you with the institutional repository ZORA and the OA journal platform HOPE for this purpose.

Hybrid Road

Publishers offer the option of additionally purchasing an OA publication for individual, traditionally published articles. Since this business model relies on double payment of fees, we neither recommend nor support it.

 


Accepted ≠ Final Published Version

In the case of subsequent Open Access publication you are usually allowed to deposit the accepted manuscript, only rarely the published publisher's PDF (e.g. publish Green OA in ZORA (PDF, 135 KB)). Sometimes these files can only be made openly accessible after a blocking period of 12 to 24 months from initial publication.

Difference in between accepted author manuscript and final publisher version (PDF, 441 KB)

Wie kann ich publizieren?

Sie wollen demnächst publizieren? Wir empfehlen Ihnen, Ihre Arbeit Open Access zu veröffentlichen: Entweder direkt in einer anerkannten Open-Access-Zeitschrift oder als Zweitveröffentlichung in einem Repository. Die UB Zürich bietet UZH-Angehörigen beim OA-Publizieren finanzielle Unterstützung.

Wie publiziere ich Open Access?

Goldener Weg

Sie publizieren direkt in einer lizenzpflichtigen Open-Access-Zeitschrift. Ihr Beitrag ist sofort für alle verfügbar. Bei den anfallenden Artikelgebühren (APCs) unterstützen wir Sie im Rahmen der Read&Publish-Verträge der UB Zürich

Diamant- oder Platin-Weg

Wie Gold, nur fallen keine Artikelgebühren an, wenn die Zeitschrift nicht kommerziell, sondern von einer Universität oder einem Verein finanziert wird.

Grüner Weg

Sie publizieren zuerst in einer herkömmlichen Closed-Access-Zeitschrift. Dann machen Sie eine Zweitpublikation in einem Repository. Die UZH stellt Ihnen dafür das institutionelle Repository ZORA und die OA-Zeitschriften-Plattform HOPE zur Verfügung.

Hybrider Weg

Verlage bieten die Möglichkeit, für einzelne, traditionell publizierte Artikel zusätzlich eine Open-Access-Veröffentlichung zu erwerben. Da dieses Geschäftsmodell auf doppelte Gebührenzahlung setzt, wird es von uns weder empfohlen noch unterstützt.

 


Akzeptiert ≠ Publiziert

Bei einer nachträglichen Open-Access-Veröffentlichung (Grün Open Access publizieren mit ZORA (PDF, 111 KB)) dürfen Sie meistens das akzeptierte Manuskript, nur selten das publizierte Verlags-PDF hinterlegen. Manchmal können diese Files erst nach einer Sperrfrist von 12 bis 24 Monaten ab Erstveröffentlichung offen zugänglich gemacht werden.

Unterschied zwischen akzeptiertem Manuskript und Verlags-PDF (PDF, 718 KB)